Paper

I’m about to enter the Konmari paper purging stage. I’ve weeded out my clothes and disposed of, donated, and given away books, so now it’s time to turn to the papers. This might actually be harder for me than any of the other stages before or after, because…paper. I love it. I love stationary and journals and planners. I love folders and stationary supplies. I love spreading all my paperwork and paper oriented miscellany on the floor and organizing it. I was that kid who not only looked forward to the start of a new school year every September, but looked forward to shopping for school supplies and getting each binder ready for the coming year’s school work. In other words, I’m a bit of a nut.

But, believe it or not, this isn’t about my desperate need to clear out all the papers, unused journals, and dated, unnecessary stationary I have wasting away in my desk. It is about the things I really, really use. My workhorses. My true loves. If you want to know what a confessed paper junky genuinely adores and uses, this is the post for you.

My Erin Condren Planner:

IMG_3774.JPG

I discovered Erin Condren two years ago and have since managed to have three planners, because I have no self-control and love these things and attempted to use two planners at a time for about six months (wasn’t necessary – I’m just not that important). For the last half of 2016 and for all of this year I have been using her black and white, hourly set up. I love it. Because I teach at wonky hours, having meetings with students, and events/appointments for my kids, the hourly set up is a must. And the black and white interior of my planner allows me to keep an elegant feel without going crazy. Give me a black Staedlater pen and some gold and white washi tape and I’m good to go. Also, you can’t beat the fact that covers are interchangeable and you customize them and switch them out as desired!

My Bullet Journal:

IMG_3775.JPG

Bullet journaling is something I started doing back in September and have steadily kept at it since. I love it. While my planner mostly keeps track of grad school assignment dates and my work schedule, my bullet journal is a catch all for all my to-dos for each day, where I keep my meal plan, and a spot for me to record little notes about my day. I also keep “collections” there (lists of things I love, want to do, books I’ve read, blog post ideas, ect.). For a while I wondered if the bullet journal was necessary or if it would usurp my planner, but over the last several months they’ve become two distinct animals, though I suppose if I wanted to combine one into the other I could…but I don’t want to at the moment.

My Journal:

img_3776

I’ve journaled inconsistently since I was a little girl, but I’ve started doing it more and more lately. I’ve found that if I want to write, I need to do it all. the. time. Journaling is a good way for me to just do a brain dump and to help me decompress when I’m dealing with a lot of “stuff”. When I’ve journaled in the past I have gotten very hung up on how I sound or how things look. In order to be successful with journaling, I’ve had to let go of that and just write. No thinking, no fussing, just putting it all out there and letting myself fall apart and make a mess. I think it helps that I have both my planner and bullet journal, because I am more neat and intentional with how I use those spaces, so that need for a particular aesthetic has an outlet and I can just leave my journal for scribbly handwriting and somewhat incoherent thoughts. And a note about the journal itself: It’s a paperless journal! The cover is made of cork and the pages are made from crushed stone. No trees were harmed in the making of this product. 😉

Leave a Reply

