Out the Window

A bit embarrassingly, we don’t, technically, have a nature table or designated spot in the house. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for ages, but have felt like we just don’t have the space for it. It’s only very recently I’ve realized that our upstairs bay window sill has sort of organically turned into a seasonal display spot, and now I’m thinking this really could become a wonderful nature “table”, if I could just remember to let it happen!

In the mean time, I wanted to show off what we already have going on.

img_2695img_2696img_2697img_2698img_2699

These darling prints are from an Etsy shop called Hearth Magic and I ordered a PDF file that was chock full of beautiful illustrations, some with accompanying text and others not. Some are currently framed and hung around my house while these smaller ones are on our window, autumnal reminders that now as the light recedes from the earth, we must find that inner glow for the darker months to come.

img_2700img_2701

The books are probably the things that change the most frequently in this space. I tend to switch things out based not only on season but on holidays and other events as well. Just a couple of weeks ago we had books that focused more on school. Now the Halloween books (Zen Ghosts by Jon J. Muth being a favorite) have been pulled from my massive bin of seasonal books in the loft to join other more fall-ish ones. Above are a few of our very, very favorites, the ones that get read over and over.

I think what’s left to do is to add some things that E. and M. find outside when we go out. In theory, it shouldn’t be difficult, because they’re constantly bringing the outside in, but I, in my mindless cleaning (when I actually get to do it), seem to automatically put all the various pieces of debris they collect back outside. This coming weekend is one where Daddy works and the kids and I shall be left to our own devices. Perhaps that will be the ideal time to dig out an old basket and let them fill it up.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love, love, love your nature spot! I am still trying to find a nook to set ours up in. All our nature finds usually end up on a giant platter in the middle of the kitchen table.

    Like

    1. I like that idea as well, though! Middle of the kitchen table is where a of our stuff ends up as well, but only because I am terrible about clearing it off, haha.

      Like

  2. debsdialogue says:

    Going on a Bear Hunt, is such a wonderful book. I also love Stick Man by Julie Donaldson. I am going to base my work with a class of 5 year olds on that book!

    Like

    1. I haven’t read Stick Man yet! The Gruffalo is such a fun book and we just picked up Room on the Broom for Halloween, which the kids also love. Julia Donaldson’s books are quickly becoming favorites in our home. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

