And Away We Go!

It’s here! It’s here! It’s finally here!

It has been tradition these past four years for my husband and I to pack up our children, drive several hours north, nearly to the Canadian border, and join my husband’s father, step-mom, and their grandson for an extra-long weekend of camping.

Though I’m currently sitting comfortably in my classroom, staring longingly at the beautiful blue sky outside, in another hour or so we’ll be hitting the road, hoping to get to The Golden Road of northern Maine before it’s too dark. To say that I’m excited is an understatement.

E. and M. are excited, too. M. is just old enough to have vague recollections of last year’s trip and E. can’t really remember a Memorial Day weekend where we didn’t travel north. Their joy over the last couple of days, as we’ve neared departure, has been palpable. E., I know, has talked extensively about this trip at school, equally thrilled at the prospect of camping for nearly five days and missing a day and a half of school.

“Mama, I had to squeeze Maddie’s hand really hard at school today so I didn’t just scream!” I was told when we picked her up early from school.

As we speak, my husband is pulling together the last bit of equipment and supplies, hopefully with at least a little help from the kids, while I put in a couple of hours at work (the beauty of working in adult education – wonderfully odd hours). When I come home, it should be time to go.

So, I leave you now. We won’t be back until late Monday afternoon. I’ll be sure to share our adventures and hopefully lots of photographs! It’s always a wonderful time and I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sounds wonderful! I look forward to hearing all about it here when you get back. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

